Missus McTraveler

Travel blog with bits of life thrown in

My Granny’s Grandmother’s Apricot Pies (got it?) September 29, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — Missus Mac @ 10:25 am

We went to visit my family in/around Austin last weekend, spending the night at my grandparents’ house on Friday before my cousin’s bridal shower on Saturday (congrats, Rachel!).

When we arrived on Friday night, Granny had a wonderful tilapia dish ready followed by my favorite dessert of hers, apricot pies. Before we left on Saturday I asked her for the recipe, so she sat down and typed it out! Here it is, if you want to try it… you will love them!

Apricot Pies
From the Kitchen of Linda Smith
My grandmother, La Vina Ellen (Ramsey) Ware use to make these, and we all loved them.
 
If possible, make the apricot filling the day before you are going to put the pies together, as the filling will be cool, and easier to handle.
 
Place in a saucepan: 1 pkg. dried apricots & 1 c. water
 
Soak apricots for several hours or overnight, until they are plump. Place lid on saucepan and cook over medium heat for 30 minutes.
 
Add 1 c. sugar to apricots in saucepan, and cook for 5 minutes more, stirring constantly, as they will burn easily. Cool and refrigerate until ready to make pies.
 
2 pkgs. Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Crusts                            2 T. melted butter
 
Place unrolled crust onto wax paper and roll out a little thinner. Cut dough into rounds, about 4″ in diameter. Add 1 tsp. apricot filling to each round. Fold over and crimp edges together. Place on greased cookie shet, and punch holes in crusts with the tines of a fork. Brush the top of the pies with melted butter.
 
Bake at 425 degrees for about 20 minutes. Makes about a dozen.
 
Let me know if you try them, and like them. I know there are some recipes for apricot pies online, but this is a family one that is tried and true!
 
I’d like to thank Granny for having us, and congratulate her and her sisters on putting together a lovely bridal shower for Rachel!
 
Thanks are also due to my cousin, Dr. L. Carole White, D.V.M. , for taking the time to look at Miko’s paw. There has been a red spot on it since we got him, which the vet we go to in College Station thought might be mange, ringworm, or just from him licking it too much. Carole looked at it and said it looked like a bacterial infection, and suggested putting Neosporin on it. After 2-3 applications of that since last Saturday, Miko’s paw is looking MUCH improved, so thank you, Carol!
 
Our little puppy is growing so fast! I’ll post some pictures soon, if I can find the USB cable for my camera! I took some pictures of him in puppy class, which he is doing exceedingly well in, and will move up to K-9 kindergarten from Puppy Preschool next Monday 🙂
 
I’m looking forward to a girls’ weekend in Round Top, so I’ll update next week as to how that goes!
 

Leave a Reply

